The applications, and what council does with them
Every development application on the register of 138 Ontario municipalities, and every motion council passes about it — matched to the property, followed until it leaves the register.
Land developers · planning consultants · municipal and land-use counsel · industry associations
A planning department publishes its active applications on its own website, in its own format, and takes them down when they are decided. To know what has been filed near a site, or what happened to a competitor's application, somebody checks ten municipal portals by hand every week and keeps their own spreadsheet. The spreadsheet is the product most firms are actually using.
Minutes are approved at the following meeting and posted after that. Measured across 943 council meetings, the median gap between a meeting and its minutes being published is 64 days. By the time the decision is readable, the window to respond has closed. That is why this watches the agenda as well as the minutes.
One region
$6,000 a year
One upper tier or one cluster of municipalities. 2 seats.
Ontario
$18,000 a year
All 138 municipalities with a register, and all 206 with decisions. 5 seats.
Association
$36,000 a year
For a body whose members build across the province. Unlimited seats.
Pricing is set. Accounts open at launch — until then, write and we will talk.
Against the two products a buyer in this category is most likely to be using. Everything in the competitor columns is from their own published material, read on 2026-09-28, and linked at the foot of this page. Where we could not establish a capability it says unknown, not no.
| Of Record | Gnowit | Curate (FiscalNote) | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario municipalities covered | ✓ 269 | ~ Top 50 across Ontario, BC and Alberta in the municipal tier; 700 claimed in the combined tier | ✕ None — United States only |
| Development register as structured items | ✓ 2,039,139 items, matched to property | ? Tracks planning notices; no field-level claim published | ? Extracts “discussions related to more than 400 topics” |
| Council decisions with mover and outcome | ✓ 589,799 motions name their mover | ? Motion detection is published for parliamentary committees, not municipal | ? No published claim either way |
| Member-by-member votes | ✓ 736,030 positions, 72 councils | ? No published claim | ? No published claim |
| Record before you subscribe | ✓ Back to 1960; 143,745 decisions predate 2020 | ✕ A subscription accumulates forward from the day it starts | ✕ A subscription accumulates forward from the day it starts |
| Source document linked on every row | ✓ Always | ? Not stated | ✓ A snippet links into the source document |
| Federal and provincial coverage | ✕ Municipal only | ✓ Federal, provincial and territorial | ✓ US federal, state and local |
| Live meeting transcripts | ✕ None | ✓ Same-day, 50+ municipalities | ? Not stated |
| Contacts database | ✕ None | ? Not stated | ✓ 168,000 local officials |
| Published price | ✓ $6,000–$36,000 a year | ✓ $1,000 a month for the municipal tier | ✕ Not published |
| Customers we can name | ✕ None yet | ✓ Selling since 2010 | ✓ Owned by a public company |
✓ yes · ~ partly · ✕ no · ? neither confirmed nor denied by any source we could find
Read 28 September 2026. Gnowit pricing · Gnowit municipal monitoring · Gnowit government monitoring · Curate · Curate for local government · FiscalNote 10-K, FY2025 · FiscalNote acquires Curate · Canada's contract disclosure · Council Scorecard · Open Council on voting records